character studies: kesslyn’s hamartias

character studies{hamartia, noun: a fatal flaw leading to the downfall of a tragic hero or heroine}

I’M LATE AGAIN BUT MEH.

[part one]

WHAT ARE YOU AFRAID OF?

Um. Well. Of being insignificant, unimportant, and forgotten. Or being judged. Or mostly anything related to other people’s opinions of me.

DO YOU HAVE A TEMPER?

YES. I mean, yes. Shouldn’t sound so proud of that . . . but yeah, my temper’s pretty bad.

WHAT KIND OF THINGS WOULD MAKE YOU LOSE YOUR TEMPER?

Lying, gossip, general injustice, and my best friend, most of the time.

IF YOU’RE ANGRY, HOW DO YOU (TRY TO) CALM DOWN?

I try to find some place I can be alone, hopefully a silent place where I can hear myself think. That cools me down somewhat, and then I’ve just got to give myself time to completely get over something.

YOU’RE IN AN ARGUMENT WITH YOUR BEST FRIEND.  WHAT’S IT ABOUT?

It’s about lying, and trust, and people he sees through his cybernetic eye.

WHAT’S YOUR WORST HABIT?

I don’t really have a worst habit, just tons of nervous habits that don’t really affect anyone. Like biting my sleeve. That’s one.

IF YOU COULD CHANGE ONE THING ABOUT YOUR APPEARANCE, WHAT WOULD IT BE AND WHY?

Not sure. Don’t really think much about my appearance.

WHAT ABOUT YOUR PERSONALITY?

Whatever it is that makes my best friend unable to trust me. Also, my being confused all the time. Would like to change that as well.

YOU’RE WORKING WITH A GROUP OF PEOPLE ON SOME KIND OF OBJECT.  WHAT ROLE DO YOU PLAY?  (LEADER, STRATEGIST, LABORER, ETC.)  DO YOU LIKE YOUR ROLE?

I’d be the strategist because I’m good with predicting outcomes and such, at least in a school setting. Being a strategist requires being smart, and . . . I do well enough in school. Prefer to be a leader, though; it’s a much more important role.

BONUS: WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE KIND OF ANIMAL?

I’m pretty into wolves–half because of the books I’ve read about them {author’s note: THE WOLF WILDER BY KATHERINE RUNDELL. READ IT.} and half just because they’re interesting.

[part two]

THE WORLD ENDED (LITERALLY OR FIGURATIVELY, YOUR CHOICE).  IT WAS YOUR FAULT.  IF IT HAD BEEN AN ACCIDENT, WHAT HAPPENED?  IF IT HAD BEEN INTENTIONAL, WHAT HAPPENED AND WHY DID YOU DO IT?

It would be an accident, of course. Not sure how it would happen. Maybe I just failed to stop my apparent future enemy, or if I choose the figurative end of the world, I might have failed to protect my friends. Which means Mela would be captured and executed (or whatever the punishment is for foreigners; I’m not exactly sure about that), and Clev would be thrown in a mental facility for his cybernetic eye.

WHAT IS SOMETHING THAT WOULD RUIN A FRIENDSHIP FOR YOU?  SOMETHING COMPLETELY AND UTTERLY INEXCUSABLE, EVEN IF YOUR CLOSEST FRIEND DID IT.

Errrr. I put up with a lot already . . . though saying that makes me feel guilty. Sorry, Clev. But inexcusable things would include . . . committing any sort of crime that actually harms someone, or saying incredibly hurtful remarks to anyone.

SOMEBODY WANTS YOU TO DO SOMETHING YOU DON’T LIKE.  WHAT’S THE BEST WAY FOR THEM TO GET YOU TO DO IT?  (BRIBE, BLACKMAIL, ETC.)

Why would I answer this question where any random creep could see it? *author blackmails her into answering question by threatening her friends*

Fine. Blackmailing me by threatening my friends.

SOMEBODY IS GETTING ON YOUR NERVES AND YOU REALLY WANT THEM TO GO AWAY BUT THEY DON’T SEEM TO GET THE HINT.  WHAT DO YOU DO?

I put up with it for a while, then maybe explode at them. Not the best way to go about doing things, but for some reason I can’t bring myself to be polite when I’m annoyed.

WHAT IS, IN YOUR OPINION, THE WORST THING YOU’VE EVER DONE?  WHAT WOULD YOU HAVE DONE DIFFERENTLY?

Ask me when my story’s done. I’ll have plenty to say by then.

SOMEBODY YOU USED TO TRUST BETRAYED YOU IN A BIG WAY, AND THEN BEGS FOR YOU TO FORGIVE THEM.  DO YOU AND WHY OR WHY NOT?  IF NOT, IS THERE SOMETHING THEY COULD DO TO GET YOU TO CHANGE YOUR MIND?

If they had changed genuinely, then yeah. I’d forgive them. Maybe not trust them any longer, but definitely stop hating them at the very least, because grudges are harmful and useless. Doesn’t exactly stop me most of the time, though.

WHAT’S YOUR OPINION ON LYING?  IN WHAT SITUATIONS WOULD YOU LIE?  WHEN DO YOU FEEL IT’S IMPORTANT TO TELL THE TRUTH, NO MATTER HOW PAINFUL IT MIGHT BE?

Hate it, hate it, hate it. Would lie to protect someone’s safety, but the truth is important in pretty much any other situation.

YOU’RE CONFIDENT THAT YOU CAN DO SOMETHING GREAT.  WHAT COULD SOMEONE DO/SAY TO DESTROY THAT CONFIDENCE?  WOULD YOU LET THEM KNOW THEIR COMMENT HURT YOU?

Well. They could say basically anything negative and my confidence would be destroyed. I’d try not to let them know, but some people have uncanny perception.

WHAT’S YOUR OPINION ON LOYALTY?

Wish my friend understood that loyalty’s not something to test, but something to trust rather than doubt at every moment.

BONUS: DO YOU LIKE THE RAIN?

Oh, yes. Especially the petrichor. And the pitter-patter sounds, and the feeling of raindrops landing, and . . . well, just everything about rain.

-THE END-

leave a reply!

