rising authors tag

(stolen from fin’s blog) (thanks for making it open to stealing!)

RULES:

1. Write a post thanking the person who tagged you: include the tag, the 11 questions asked, your answers, and, in reply to the request for a small piece of prose or poetry, share a 150-word story.
2. At the end of the post, provide 11 new questions.
3. Request a brief 150-word story from the people you tagged.
4. Tag at least one person, and include a link to their blog.

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS:

What’s your favourite genre to write in?

Sci-fi and paranormal!

What are your favourite writing blogs, or writing websites?

DIY MFA is a pretty good site. I discovered an outlining technique that actually works for me there and it seems pretty helpful otherwise, too.

Then there’s the YWP, of course. It helps motivate me in November and the community is great.

Give three pieces of writing advice that you’ve found helpful!

One of my favorite singers said this about music, but it applies to writing as well: “You can never finish art. It’s not possible. But if I was supposed to make a perfect song, then I would only make one song . . . and I would change it every day.”

“Show, don’t tell” is also always useful, as is the idea that the only person to beat is yourself.

Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what do you like to listen to? If not, well, why not?

I can only focus if the music is instrumental, so I usually just search for music in whatever mood I’m trying to write in and use what comes up. Otherwise I don’t listen to any music.

Do you eat or drink while you write? If so, what do you eat/drink?

Yess. I’ll eat whatever snacks we have available, usually peanut butter crackers or something.

Out of curiosity, what’s your typing speed?

It varies, but normally it’s around seventy words-per-minute or so.

Do you give much thought to your antagonist?

‘Course! Or I try to, at least. Well-developed antagonists are much more interesting and realistic than the flat ones I usually read about.

Do you write more females or more males?

I write more females, although it’s nearly a tie between the two and I’m trying to balance that out further.

Which do you think you write better?

I think I write them equally well (though a second opinion would be appreciated).

What’s your idea of a perfect place and time to write?

I write better in small, cozy places with nothing out of place to bother my subconscious. Early morning or late night would be preferable.

If you could do one thing to make your writing life easier, what would it be?

I would give myself the motivation to write every day no matter what. Or, well, I would make myself act on the motivation I already have, since that’s what I struggle with.

150-WORD EXCERPT:

Ghosts stood all around him.

Those ghosts, his Negatives, they were trying to . . . he couldn’t tell what. Repeatedly, they pointed to the wall with the chipped white paint, then hid their faces as if they were all ashamed. Then they peeked from behind their hands and tilted their heads at Clev, to see if he understood.

He didn’t.

So they pointed again, more urgently than before. And as they grew increasingly desperate, he sat and stared and tried hard to understand. For the umpteenth time, he wished he could actually hear the ghosts–but that required a cyborg ear, and there was no way he would get one. Kesslyn would hate that. She would hate him.

So he yawned, taking in the musty air of his work room. It was a struggle to keep his eyes open enough to watch the ghosts–though even if he let them close, sleep wouldn’t come.

NEW QUESTIONS:

  1. What are you best at writing–description, emotion, action, or dialogue?
  2. How do you develop your characters?
  3. How long do you spend outlining?
  4. Most words you’ve written in a day?
  5. Favorite writing challenge?
  6. Favorite world you’ve created, and why?
  7. What type of story have you never written before, but would like to?
  8. Describe one of your projects in one sentence, as interestingly as possible.
  9. What motivates you to write?
  10. What was the biggest struggle in writing that you’ve overcome, and how did you overcome it?
  11. How long have you been writing stories?

I tag Shim and anyone else who would like to do this!

-THE END-

leave a reply!

