five fantastic opening sentences

Okay, so I just really like posts about the first sentences in books (plus it’s a great way to get more people to join me in my obsessions) so here are a few of my favorites in no particular order! BUT remember this list is by no means complete. It’s just five out of MANY MANY great first sentences, but five’s enough for now. Plus, I wouldn’t want to go on forever, so yeah. Here they are!

On the morning of its first birthday, a baby was found floating in a cello case in the middle of the English Channel.

-Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

As they ascended, retreating farther from the winding trails that marked the way to nearby villages, the world opened to him in its purest form: silent, ancient, mysterious.

Deadly.

-Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

The Narrows remind me of August nights in the South.

They remind me of old rocks and places where the light can’t reach.

They remind me of smoke—the stale, settled kind—and of storms and damp earth.

Most of all, Da, they remind me of you.

-The Archived by Victoria Schwab

Kell wore a very peculiar coat.

It had neither one side, which would be conventional, nor two, which would be unexpected, but several, which was, of course, impossible.

-A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

Once upon a time, a hundred years ago, there was a dark and stormy girl.

The girl was Russian, and although her hair and eyes and fingernails were dark all the time, she was stormy only when she thought it absolutely necessary. Which was fairly often.

Her name was Feodora.

-The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell

AREN’T THEY GREAT? NOW GO READ EVERY ONE OF THOSE BOOKS. IMMEDIATELY. I ORDER YOU TO.

unrelatedly i just realized that there are only three different authors on that list. ignore that.

Since there are a lot more great first sentences from books that I haven’t quite finished yet, I’ll probably have another post like this up soon! Or not-so-soon. It depends on when I get through them all.

-THE END-

8 thoughts on “five fantastic opening sentences

  1. I feel like these are all books you’ve told me to read before, hehe… But they are really good! I think I like The Archived one the best, and I also liked the one right after it, though I have absolutely no idea what it means. :)

    Like

    • Yup! :P Glad you like that one best, ’cause it is THE GREATEST out of all the books I’ve recommended to you. ‘Cept the Ever Afters series. Did I recommend that? If I didn’t, it’s recommended now!
      Also that one is about a mejyckal coat that can be flipped inside out and turned into an entirely new coat multiple times.

      Like

      • Hehe, I really should read it then. And I think you’ve talked about the Ever Afters but I don’t know if you recommended it specifically to me. And now you have. :)

        Ohhh it was talking about sides as in outside and inside, rather than what I thought, which was sides as in left and right, which really didn’t make sense, heh.

        Like

leave a reply!

