nano 2016: day thirty

I DID IT. I WROTE 25,000 IN THIRTY DAYS.

This NaNo was full of firsts and new records! Writing 2k in a day now isn’t as big of a feat as it used to be; I pulled it off on a school-day with just a little bit of staying up late, and that was all it took to win on the last day! I admit that in the few days near the end I started losing motivation, and on one day I only managed six words, but I still managed to win, and I’m proud of myself for it.

Although, at the end, some of my writing started turning into something like this:

The boy is going to die he is going to die the seeds he is going to die they must work the seeds birds birds birds birds birds birds birds birds they must work the boy is going to die birds birds birds birds birds the seeds.

But every bird helped me reach my goal, so what can I say?

My characters are all kind of traumatized right now–even the antagonist–and I’m definitely not finished with the story. I’m just getting to the fun parts, actually. But I will finish it soon!

Right now, though, I’m going to finally take a break and focus on school again. My grades did suffer during November, so bringing them up is my first priority again. Plus it’s a relief to write down my to-do list and not see writing added onto everything else, even if it’s the more enjoyable part of my list.

I also now get to eat all the food I was saving for myself as a reward for writing, which is greattt.

I’m estimating that my novel will last five to ten thousand words longer before it ends, but after that, I have a lot of establishing the world and further developing the characters to edit into it. Hopefully things like that bring it up to fifty thousand words! I’ll have to come up with a schedule for when I want to finish this project and work on my other projects as well. I might have it posted by the new year so that I can be held responsible for following it, but I’m not quite sure yet.

How did NaNo end for the rest of you?

-THE END-

3 thoughts on “nano 2016: day thirty

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    CONGRATS ON FINISHING NANO!! ALL THE CAKE FOR YOU!! (I totally made myself food rewards when I finished too, hehe.) And omg that’s amazing that you managed to squeeze in writing despite being really busy. :) My NaNo book will need so much editing, but I’m still kind of excited to get to it eventually. :D After I have a break first.😂

    Like

    • THANK YOUUU, AND YOU TOO. I WILL ENJOY THE CAKE THOROUGHLY.
      (Food rewards are the most motivating,aren’t they?)
      Oh man, mine is going to need a lot of editing too. I’m trying not to think about that part yet. xD But good luck with your story! I’d totally love to read it once you’ve finished editing.

      Like

  2. Congratulations on winning NaNo! Your example of what your writing was like near the end sounds a little bit like my book, too, except that I was not writing about birds. (Actually I was, but they were just on parts of the carvings on the university walls, so only a little.)

    Also, I totally know what you mean about writing not being on your to-do list. It made me SO happy on December 1st to not put it on mine.

    Like

leave a reply!

