my scattered thoughts about my work-in-progress

I wrote a little thing to keep in mind as I work on my fairy-tale retelling, so that whenever I lose motivation, I remember what I want my story to be. It’s a reminder to me of my purpose and a guide to me when I finally get to the editing stage. My thoughts are kind of scattered, but overall typing this served its purpose, and so I thought I’d share.

“i want it to be a story about responding to darkness with darkness when you should respond with beauty, about letting go of yourself because you need to, because if you don’t you ruin yourself anyway until what’s left of you isn’t you at all but something else entirely, something monstrous and unfamiliar. i want it to be a story about choosing the wrong things because someone else has wronged you, about the consequences of seeking vengeance and destruction. i want it to be a story about contrast, and hope and not-hope and dreaming. i want it to be a story about anger and sadness and monstrous feelings that grip you and change you. i want it to be a story about being allowed to do things you should never be allowed to do and about being given the ability to choose your own path and choosing wrong. i want it to be a story about looking for a remaining light inside yourself and finding only darkness, and losing something permanent yet trying to get it back anyway.”

Magical word of the day/week/month/whatever:

Pulchritude, which means beauty.

-THE END-

4 thoughts on “my scattered thoughts about my work-in-progress

leave a reply!

